Titanfall

Discuss any upcoming games, stuff we don't generally play, etc.
purebeau69
HOLY SHIT!!

Titanfall

Post by purebeau69 » Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:11 pm

Kerberos
HOLY SHIT!!

Re: Titanfall

Post by Kerberos » Tue Aug 20, 2013 3:39 pm

I like things about this, I dislike others. The whole idea makes me uneasy.

I am excited at the possibilities that open up for level designers when you have human avatars that can make far and quick terrain traversal. I enjoy the idea of Titan's and how they interact with the players and world. I like the fact that it doesn't have singleplayer and that MP matches are laid out in such a way that they fall into a larger, more global narrative. I LOVE the fact that Extraction / Retreat is a PART of the gameplay. I don't know what impact it will have on successive missions or overall progress or really anything. But I can tell you that as a designer I have been waiting for a game that involves combat extractions as some element of a multiplayer match. Bolting for a landing zone while being low and supplies and manpower well repelling pursuers and generally running headlong into trouble is a under-explored element of combat MP games.

I worry about how quickly the level design can make jumping and jetting around really fucking broken or boring. I worry about how Titans will be balanced. Can everyone walk around with titans? Is there a team limit? I saw a cooldown 'construction' timer in the video, but does that mean you just have wait a bit until your team can steam roll your opponents? How will humans fare against Titans? Is direct confrontation possible or is it all surprise and retreat to survive?

I appreciate that they are keeping the very fluid and refined shooting mechanics of CoD, I will never say CoD plays badly as a shooter. That being said it just feels very ... used... I don't know.

I am very excited for this game. I do however have my reservations.